Mentoring

The following colleagues have volunteered to serve as mentors. Please contact the person of your choosing via email, and make sure to include “MEM mentoring” in the subject of your message. Depending on the nature of your request and their availability, mentors will offer to conduct the discussion via email, over the phone, or in person at MESA. We kindly ask that you only contact the people listed below to discuss mentoring related issues.

If you are willing to volunteer as mentor (all ranks and subfields are welcome), please contact MEM’s secretary, Alison Vacca (avacca@utk.edu).

Mohamad Ballan
Phd candidate (expected 2018)
History Department
University of Chicago
mballan@uchicago.edu

Antoine Borrut
Associate Professor of History

University of Maryland
PhD 2007, La Sorbonne (Paris)
aborrut@umd.edu

Fred M. Donner
Professor of Near Eastern History

University of Chicago
PhD 1975, Princeton
f-donner@uchicago.edu

Pamela M. Klasova
Phd candidate (expected 2018)
Arabic and Islamic Studies
Georgetown University
pmk32@georgetown.edu

Kristina L. Richardson
Associate Professor of History
Queens College, City University of New York
PhD 2008, University of Michigan
Kristina.Richardson@qc.cuny.edu

Sarah Bowen Savant

Associate Professor of History
Aga Khan University, London
PhD 2006, Harvard
sarah.savant@aku.edu

Alison M. Vacca
Assistant Professor of History

University of Tennessee, Knoxville
PhD 2013, University of Michigan
avacca@utk.edu